I Can’t Breathe

Have You Lost Humanity? Thanks dollarphotoclub.
Have You Lost Humanity?
Thanks dollarphotoclub.

What does “I can’t breathe” mean

A closing off of the central airway

The loss of life’s earthly gleam

Did not see his distress due to your hate

~~~~

He clearly and humbly told you

Was gasping and dying before your eyes

Could have stopped but your issues

Got in the way of you heart’s acting humanely

~~~~

You are drunk with your own power

Must be trained to touch not beat

To love those you serve not devour

What, dear God, were you thinking

~~~~

A young man lost his tender future

A family lost their hope and pride

A Nation lost their dignity in hate’s fire

What will it take to change this tide?

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories Uncategorized16 Comments

16 thoughts on “I Can’t Breathe”

  1. I tried to explain my feelings about this once before and got my legs chopped off by others. It seems as though it’s a hot button that everyone wants to push but no one wants to leave their opinions aside. It’s a human issue without any room for conclusion and or opinion. There to many laws to which not all are explain, there to many tempers without any balance, we all need to stop and think before we act, me included. Pleeeeeeeeeese this is mine and not yours , read responsibility, Many blessings,Peace

    Like

  2. What will it take? What motivation is there for it to stop? The tide will rise until there are genuine repercussions for both the perpetrators and the communities who empower them. Until barbarians are held accountable for their deeds, other barbarians will bleed impotent rage into the the night, and the cycle continues. Wonderful poem–such a shame there’s a need for you to write it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

