Steps Toward Harmony

A small comedic break. Yesterday, something both poignant and funny happened in my life and I want to share it with you. My best friend and dearest sister Laura Love Ware and I excitedly declared our faith together the night of Friday, April 13, 1973. We were 14 years old. She from a beloved Baha’i Family and me? Well, not. We had met because I was curious about the Faith and her parents decided we might be fast friends. Friends, almost from day one she started lovingly showing me my issues in a way that was at first disconcerting and then became funny. I remember the first time it happened. I said that black people don’t use combs like we do. She got that look and said in an indignant voice “Some White people” I wish you could hear the tone. I was flustered and didn’t quite know what to do so I stuttered and spit trying to recapture my image. I thought afterwards that I was glad that was over. This was to repeat itself over and over throughout 42 years. Yesterday, Laura came to visit me to share our day together and I made an assumption where I assumed that all black Baha’is know each other. O dear! As soon as it was out of my mouth, I looked at her and she looked at me but this time I said, “some white people”! We laughed soooo hard. The white woman finally got it! Thank you God, for bringing me to this Faith, You are my Light, my Life and my Love. Laura, thank you for sticking with this broken winged bird! I love you!!

~

Point of interest, both Laura and I now are working to combat racism in our own small ways. She with her work to help heal the ravages of racism on African Americans and I with whites as together we try to work on ourselves to cure this disease. Thanks for reading!

We were both so young. This is not us but...
We were both so young. This is not us but…

I wanted to share this with you also because I feel that when a POC shares their heart with me I am honored. I am being given a gift that I don’t always deserve. I have never received that gift as graciously as I should have but it seems always to be the efforts that POC have made to reach out and help those that oppress that makes me see the sacred nature of suffering

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories Uncategorized8 Comments

8 thoughts on “Steps Toward Harmony”

  1. Very lovely, my best friend and I were in a similar situation, she was African and I’m Caucasian, our friendship was only possible because we attended a private catholic school. This was in the late eighties when apartheid was still in force in South Africa. She was not able to catch the bus to my home. We are still friends but don’t see each other too often because I left South Africa, but see her on my visits back ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

