Letters~OctPoWriMo Day 19

Letters.
Letters.

Dear Bullies, I’m still here. Still standing. Yay!

Dear Woody, there’s a cure for what ails you. Love!

Dear Lisa, I still believe in humanity’s basic unity. Oneness!

Dear Laura, we are striving and thriving. Strength!

Dear Family, I am not like a China cup. Whole!

Dear Jason, you are precious to me like a rare gem. Brilliant!

Dear Andrew, I love you, kam kam ruz be ruz. Honesty!

Dear God, thank You, thank You. Gratitude!

© Carol Campbell

OctPoWriMo.com
OctPoWriMo.com

The Prompt:

“Hello again from your favorite structure anarchist! I yet again bring you something with form! Never fear, this one has nothing to do with counting!

Actually this is a form that I kinda made up one day for a poetry class in college, I call it the “Dear,” form.

Once upon a time a friend and I were joking about our ex boyfriends at the beginning of poetry class and coming forth from that was what we wrote that day!

How to do it? 

Each line of the poem starts with “Dear (name)”
You get one line to say something to an ex or some significant love, example I did my ex boyfriend, my high school crushes, my (then) current boyfriend, my childhood love, etc. Anyways my list ended up to be about 17 names long.
For each name, you get one sentence plus one word (optional) Example: “Dear Steve, at least you made good coffee. Sorry.”

Don’t have a long enough list? You can go with a list like your bridesmaids, your best friends in college, deceased pets, etc. I’ve always liked doing this periodically with the same list to see if my feelings have changed towards any of the memories I have of these people. It’s a nice reflective exercise I feel, personally I think it pairs well with a glass of wine.”~Beverly Tan

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories Uncategorized22 Comments

22 thoughts on “Letters~OctPoWriMo Day 19”

Leave a Reply

