EXCLAMATION

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “By the Dots.”

I love exclamation points! You see? It’s my personality and it’s the same reason that I love emoticons. 🙂 I can’t see you and you can not see me so I want to communicate effectively with you and to include my emotional response as well. This is especially true with comments that I make on your blogs. It is very rare for me to find a post that I don’t, in some way, appreciate and this fact must be shared with the writer!! See? I hope my enthusiasm has carried over to you as you are reading this. If you knew me in person you’d know how expressive I am. My mellow husband often quips that I’m over the top. You wouldn’t agree with him, would you? 😦

Punctuation, in general is a big challenge for me. It always has been, much to my teacher’s dismay. Finally someone said that I should listen to speech and look for pauses, stops, half stops and EXCLAMATIONs! That helped a great deal. Except for the last one in caps as I overdo that one, obviously. Please remember me in your punctuation prayers!

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories Uncategorized22 Comments

22 thoughts on “EXCLAMATION”

  1. Hey, Carol…loved your post about exclamation points! and isn’t it funny…right after that poem I did…dot…dot…dot… haha…anyway…great post! 🙂 I say we should use as many as we want!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m very much the same way. Like you, I got told to tone it down, that writing with this sort of enthusiasm doesn’t look “professional.” I always smile when I see someone who truly writes their feelings. Sometimes I think we’re told to “tone it down” too often.

    Thanks for your kind comment on my poem at poetryofthenetherworld dot blogspot dot com

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

