Scarred~Etheree

image by Valentina Kallias ~ “Apocalypse Horseman Pestilence”
Image by Valentina Kallias ~ “Apocalypse Horseman Pestilence”

Scarred

Brought down

Hidden worth

He marked her face

So she hides inside

Her true beauty still shines

Shines through the self imposed veils

Wrapped tightly around her small head

Veils of protection sought but not found

She is a heroine and does not know

~

© Carol Campbell 2015

Picture Prompt:

 https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2015/11/10/photo-challenge-86/

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories Uncategorized24 Comments

24 thoughts on “Scarred~Etheree”

  1. When I think of the terrible acid attacks on women who are seen as noncompliant with certain oppressive rules, or who rebuff the advances of men who only want to control them, it breaks my heart. May we see a future where fewer such heroines as your protagonist are necessary.

    peppersfetch dot blogspot dot com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. the old structures of superstition and oppression are dying, but they are and have been dying hard. yet womenfolk around the world so such positive examples of strength and courage.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks so much for your response to the prompt Carol 🙂

    Simple yet so effectively written – the point of choosing to focus on the strength of character, the courage within – the beauty – unfortunately too many suffer terrible injustices and denial of basic freedoms and rights – but as long as there is hope and self-respect and belief, however “small and quiet” within the heart – then endurance can be a little easier to bear.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

