Lost

Lost Feather Lynn Greyling
Lynn Greyling

feather softly falling

d

     o

          w

                   n

Watching

i hear

the freedom of the gull

as he

flies by

his loss

barely tasted

except by me

~

© Carol Campbell 2015

Dverse Poets Badge

http://dversepoets.com/2015/12/03/yum-that-poem-tastes-like-a-fine-cabernet-dverse-mtb-synesthesia/

The Prompt:

“So today, let’s take another look at this creative poetic toy. I’m going to plagiarize my own prompt to discuss exactly how to go about this. To start with, I’m going to dip into the world of medicine.

There is a neurological condition (called synesthesia) in which the patient confuses sensations. For example, he may taste a fragrance, or hear a flower. Have you ever touched a rainbow or seen a toccata?

The Poetry Foundation defines synesthesia as “a blending or intermingling of different senses in description.” In the world of art, painters make a conscious choice of color to represent feeling or sensation. One might choose red to express rage or a loud noise. Or gray to depict depression. Practitioners of Therapeutic Touch instruct their clients to choose a color that represents the outcome they hope to achieve. How about words? Do you associate colors or, perhaps, sound with certain words? What color is birth? Growth? Dying? What chord would you chose to depict joy? Grief?”~Victoria Slotto

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories Uncategorized31 Comments

31 thoughts on “Lost”

  1. SMiLes.. i often wonder
    as a child and far far
    into the future as
    a so-called man..
    why all the animals
    have it so easy..
    and why i worry
    so much
    about
    falling
    falling
    falling..
    truly an innate
    fear.. falling.. falling
    falling.. along with loud
    sounds.. i can turn it down..
    but i am still falling falling
    then.. finAlly.. i stand
    up and find
    i am
    standing
    standing
    standing
    ALL
    just
    standing ALL..
    and now i am
    a cat.. that
    sheds hIS
    fears
    like
    hAirs
    or dust
    of sKin of me.. Free..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. the loss of a feather is only temporary. the bird still has most of his feathers. he may squawk for it’s loss, but he continues his flight. very imaginative way describing the falling away of the old , the old feather in this case.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

