Star Home

Gyula Kosice. Constellation and Habitat of the Hydrospatial City, 1973
Gyula Kosice 1973

Stars are in my backyard

Surrounding my space home

Sacrificed my earth home

Searching for true meaning

Science is my calling

Sentient beings are sought

Satisfied with my view

~

© Carol Campbell 2015

mindlovemisery badge
https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2015/12/05/bps-shadorma-beyond-pleiades-december-5-2015/

Picture and Prompt:

“Greetings from Paloma!

For this week I’d like us to look at a form called the Pleiades.

A Pleiades is a 7 line poem created by Craig Tigerman.  It is named after the stars in the Pleiades star cluster in the constellation Taurus.  Each line has 6 syllables and begins with the same letter – which is the first letter in the (one word) title.

Shadow Poetry tells us that “six of the stars (in Pleiades) are readily visible to the naked eye; depending on visibility conditions between nine and twelve stars can be seen. Modern astronomers note that the cluster contains over 500 stars. The ancients named these stars the seven sisters: Alcyone, Asterope, Celaeno, Electra, Maia, Merope, and Tygeta; nearby are the clearly visible parents, Atlas and Pleione.””

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, 28 Comments

28 thoughts on “Star Home”

  1. If I get up early enough to get the paper for hubby I can see some of the morning stars.
    Since the time shift I miss seeing Orion. But this morning I did see one of the dippers. Though I always get confused as to where the north star really is because well it isn’t the brightest star.
    The moon was barely a thin fingernail crescent.

    Depending on the time of year I can see the sparkle of the Pleiades in the southwest sky. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The Southwestern Pennsylvanian sky. Just north of Lancaster – More or less. In the burbs between the city and more rural areas.

        I have family in UpState NY. I saw the Milky Way in September one year. Just jaw dropping gorgeous!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I move around quite a bit growing up…but here’s home for the last 25 years 🙂

        Used to have folks in AZ, but they were in the city sprawl. Got to see really old, like hundreds of year old cacti about two years ago. To know that one arm of a cactus can take up to 50 years to grow – that’s amazing!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

