Learning

Young Boy Sailing Hid Boat by Mary at dverse
Young Boy Sailing His Boat in a Pond in Paris by the Louvre by Mary

Watching my beloved child playing contentedly in the pond creates a spreading warmth throughout my being. He is my joy and my hopes for the future all wrapped up in this darling package. I can see that he is happy but he’s also learning so many things through his many questions. Like why the boat stays on top and doesn’t sink. He must also wonder about the color that the pond reflects as the gentle ripples radiate out from the fountain. I know that someday he’ll have the answers to these questions. This is my deepest prayer, that he never stop asking. That he’ll let the ripples of curiosity lead him to his the sea of his future.

green water pond

fountain dispenses dreams

flows in circles

© Carol Campbell 2015

Dverse Poets Badge

The Prompt From:

Haibun Monday – 4

Haibun Monday:

“Each time we will use different ways to trigger inspiration. and today I am using four photos to, hopefully, inspire you.  Choose one of them.  They all have a common theme of ‘water,’ but I think within each picture there are various interesting details on which you might be able to focus when writing your haibun.  It doesn’t have to be the water aspect that you notice.  It can be the fountain, little boat, the umbrella, the forest in the background, the chairs at the beach, or whatever else you see.

Hopefully when you have written your haibun both the prose and the haiku will each work by themselves; but when combined you will achieve something larger than the separate units.”~Mary

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags24 Comments

24 thoughts on “Learning”

  1. Ah yes, the ripples of curiosity — I hope the same (now) for my grandchildren, that they will continue to question and explore and learn from their environment. I like very much the personal touch you used in writing your haibun. I do think that this photo is kind of a universal photo – and your poem definitely made it so!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. it’s funny, but looking at that fountain reminded me of the fountain in Los Alamos, NM, the birthplace of the atom bomb. my hopes is that this young boy and other youngsters around the globe won’t have to practise for war, but can think about peace and love and nature and spirit, with that child-like curiosity and wonder that all human beings are born with.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Questions..
    Children
    do not ask
    anymore.. input
    instead of output..
    bRing minds with
    little
    out put
    or questions
    in deeper oceans
    of life..
    Turn it off
    and talk and
    questions come
    again..
    but now
    there is Google
    and another reason
    to turn the mouth off too…

    Vocal Chord
    imagination
    stilted by screens..:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

