Look!

Stars George Hodan
George Hodan

my wishes twinkle

high in the bright night sky

some flare others dim

hang on to the sparkling ones

let go of those not to be

~~~

© Carol Campbell 2015

Dverse Poets Badge

Today, since it is the winter season and many cultures embrace the celebration of Light in various forms and giving of special gifts to family and friends, I would like you all to write a poem about stars. Consider this your gift to the poetic world and to the world in general. As this is a gift, I ask you to make your poems as full of light as you can – it has been such dark times for us, I would like us to give the beauty, mystery and hope of the stars to the world in general – to write of positivity, joy, love; no politics or cynicism. Write of making wishes on stars as a child or an adult, of viewing a meteor shower, of being in love and making love under the stars, of their mystery. Or make up a story poem about the stars, a constellation, or a personal experience about stars.~Toni

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories Uncategorized48 Comments

48 thoughts on “Look!”

      1. If you missed out on the time frame to link, dVerse Poets Pub will be back after a break in the New Year. You can check under dSchedule for the Thursdays when it is Open Link Night, when you can submit any new poem under any subject/form. I would love it if you do find the time to respond to my prompt and write a poem about the stars. Please come visit us! thank you. toni

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I too think this is (even if I did come up with it) a great positive prompt. We need all the positive we can get these days and the stars always show their light, even when hidden by the clouds. 🙂 at dVerse, we always welcome “new” poets. Just let us know it’s your first time at dVerse because we like to welcome newcomers to the site. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  1. wonderfully wise poem. Brief and to the point but at the same time, friendly and not terse. I like the snow on your page with this poem. I like it when it “snows” on WordPress. Thank you for participating in this prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

