Tree

Cherry Tree Jana Illnerova
Jana Illnerova

cherry tree

straight and ever reaching

watered by life’s force

~

cherry tree

many flowers open

greeting Spring

~

straight and ever reaching

hardness of wood

softness of blooms

~

watered by life’s force

constant flow of water

bringing forth fruit

~~

© Carol Campbell 2015

logo CDHK December 2015
Carpe Diem Haiku Kai December 2015

Prompt

There are several places in Japan which are seen as sacred and holy, but some of those places hide secrets too. One of those secrets was on Mount Yudono. Let me tell you a little bit more about the secrets of Mount Yudono.

Basho wrote “not permitted to tell” on Mount Yudano (meaning: bathroom). On this mountain was a spectacular waterfall which had been a Shinto place of worship since early times. Only men could visit it and only after a rigorous climb with several rituals and services in various temples. At the gate, after purification rites, they must remove their shoes to climb the rocks barefoot. In addition, before being allowed to view this wonder, each men had to swear never to reveal what he witnessed there.~Chevrefeuille

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories Uncategorized24 Comments

24 thoughts on “Tree”

  1. Carol, I love this poem. Does it follow a specific form? It took me a second reading to see that each line of the first stanza was used as a first line of the subsequent stanza. What a lovely way to create continuity. My favorite part – “hardness of wood, softness of blooms”. And your story about Mt. Yudano was very interesting as well. That story was new to me. Thank you for that morning stimulation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are most welcome! This is called a troiku. and it you follow the link to Carpe Diem Haiku Kai, you can learn all about the various haiku forms form some masters! Tell me if you decide to do it and I’ll look for you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. a beautiful tree with beautiful blossoms. when I was a boy one of my young friends would climb his grandfather’s cherry tree which he brought overseas from Italy, the old country. the cherries seemed to have tasted exceptionally sweet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

