A Trek

A Trek Ian L
Ian L

Hearing the Salvadorans shouting “Feliz Navidad” really brought happiness to me every time I heard it. On this particular day, I was on my way to a remote village North of Sonzacate where my family and I lived. It was the middle of the rainy season, so we had to get moving in order to beat the rains and the ensuing muck of the country roads. Always hot there and humidity increasing hourly, we knew that after the rains our trip back would be made more tolerable. I never tired of seeing the rich tropical plant life there. So many shades of green mixed with the sudden bursts of some stunning flowers popping their blooms up for me to see.

Hearing the tropical birds, like the Quetzal calling from deep within the flora of the forest made me feel primal and earthy. This richness and this heat was reflected in the depth and brilliance of the native peoples of that land. They conveyed a warmth and a love that I never though possible in a human being, teaching me so much about my cold, United States ways. I believe that the whole experience brought me closer to the true humanity that mankind needs.

radiating heat

quetzal sings in the forest

warm smiles beckon

~~~~

© Carol Campbell 2015

mindlovemisery badge
https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2015/12/16/heeding-haiku-with-chevrefeuille-december-16th-2015-narrow-road/

Our prompt this time with Chevrefeuille is to write a haibun about a journey that we’ve taken or will take. We are asked to write it set at Christmas time and to be no more than 250 words! Thanks, Chev!

And for:

logo cd special december 2015
Carpe Diem Special December

Inspiration offered by Georgia Bastet at Carpe Diem Special. Please go read some of the other fantastic haiku poets there.

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.com/

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, 15 Comments

15 thoughts on “A Trek”

      1. You are so welcome, Carol, you are a gifted writer! your prose are as poetic as your haiku. Have not written today yet, am so enjoying reading but when I am placed where the writer is along a journey, that is a true gift. Embrace it.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh I so loved and related to this haibun having lived in the the third world tropics on and off for a number of years. You evoke the vibrant colours and the warmth of the people . I miss it as I am sure you do. Love the photo. Beautiful poem. Lifted my spirits

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

