Short

Short Cynthia Cole Davis
Cynthia Cole Davis

night lingers

sun is hesitant to rise

snows on holy night

~

© Carol Campbell 2015

CDHK Seven Days Christmas
Carpe Diem Seven Days of Christmas

Seven days of Christmasy haiku! I don’t celebrate Christmas in the traditional way. I do honor this time as the sacred birth of His holiness, Jesus. Merry Christmas to all who hold this time dear! ❤

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories Uncategorized14 Comments

14 thoughts on “Short”

  1. I don’t celebrate Christmas as a religious holiday myself and as a historian I think that probably His Holiness Jesus the Christ was born sometime in spring, but I do enjoy the traditional German symbols (my family origin in fact) tied up with the darkest period of the year as the renewal of life. I enjoyed your beautiful haiku very much Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, if the story about the shepherds is to be believed, we must realize that shepherds don’t take their sheep to pasture in the winter in open fields (even theologians agree on this point) but outside of that the only thing we’re certain about is that King Herod mentioned in connection with His birth died in 4 B.C., a little embarrassing that … the Christian theologians have been trying to solve the problem for centuries, although to the early Christians, who didn’t celebrate Christmas didn’t seem to think it as important as the message that He brought to the world.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That is what I focus on. It’s significant to me because humanity becomes so attached to the outward symbols of faith and eventually can lose the inward spirit of faith! What an interesting person you are!

        Like

Leave a Reply

