One

One Jon Luty
Jon Luty

one on my path

loneliness is my friend

the mountain calls

~

one on my path

my anticipation rises

in silence

~

loneliness is my friend

nightinggales call my name

am I alone?

~

the mountain calls

tread the mystical path

greet the holy ones

~~~~

© Carol Campbell 2015

logo CDHK December 2015
Carpe Diem Haiku Kai December 2015

Nearing the end of Basho’s Northern Journey and now he confronts loneliness and the missing of some companions. Two edged sword though because he visits many temples and delights in them and the nature surrounding them. Here’s an excerpt from today’s lesson.

the moon clear
on sand carried over here
by a saint

© Basho (Tr. Jane Reichhold)

 

It rained on the night of the fifteenth, just as the host of my inn had predicted.

 

Harvest moon
weather in the northern areas
is unsettled

© Basho (Tr. Jane Reichhold)

 

It was fine again on the sixteenth. I went to the Colored Beach to pick up some pink shells. I sailed the distance of seven miles in a boat and arrived at the beach in no time, aided by a favorable wind. A man by the name of Tenya accompanied me, with servants, food, drinks and everything else he could think of that we might need for our excursion. The beach was dotted with a number of fisherman’s cottages and a tiny temple. As I sat in the temple drinking warm tea and sake, I was overwhelmed by the loneliness of the evening scene.

loneliness
clarity is only out done
by an autumn beach


© Basho (Tr. Jane Reichhold)

To read the fine haiku by the participants, please visit,

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.com/2015/12/carpe-diem-886-journey-continues.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+CarpeDiemHaikuKai+%28CARPE+DIEM+HAIKU+KAI%29

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories HaikuTags16 Comments

16 thoughts on “One”

Leave a Reply

