Frozen

Frozen Petr Kratochvil
Petr Kratochvil

ice covers the fall

winter’s first enchantment

a crystal rainbow

~

ice covers the fall

frozen moments in time

remnants of flowers

~

winter’s first enchantment

sign of nature’s beginnings

walk carefully

~

a crystal rainbow

the first sun’s reflection

winter’s flowers

~~~~

© Carol Campbell 2016

Logo CD January 2016
http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.com

“Okay … this month it’s all about “classic meets modern” in which I have made a “cocktail” of classical and modern kigo (or seasonwords). Kigo are words which point toward a season and its one of the “rules” of haiku that every haiku has a kigo in it. For example: “snow” is a kigo for winter and “tulips” is a kigo for spring.

In our first episode of 2016 I have a nice kigo for winter for your inspiration, Hatsuhikari (first light of the sun), Let me give you a little explanation …

January is the first month of a year. The meaning of the word, “the first” gives us a new and strong impression. Accordingly, the arrival of a new year makes us feel ourselves refreshed. And also we are conscious that all the things surrounding us come to be fresh.
It is supposed that perhaps the Japanese people have respected all the creations as to be pure and to be revived in the New Year, and have made up their mind to start their own new life with a new resolution. Through pious praying, they strongly hope to be happy and to lead a full life in the new year by clearing up the past which they could not be satisfied with.
The Japanese put hatsu onto the words of nature, such as Hatsuhi(first Sun), Hatsuzora(first sky), Hatsuhikari(first light of the Sun) so as to express their respect to Nature of the New Year.

winter morning
first light of the sun … so fragile
reflects in the snow

© Chèvrefeuille”

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags13 Comments

13 thoughts on “Frozen”

  1. it’s so cool to see flowers and other plants covered in ice, like something frozen in time forever. but waiting only for the first gust of warm air to melt the ice.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

