Promise

Resolve Ronald Carlson
Ronald Carlson

You promised to work at this love of ours. You promised with great aplomb, too. I will tell you now, with intent and resolve, that you lied to me and to yourself. Your honeyed words indicate an honesty beyond your true capacity. I doubt you even know what truth really is or what it means to live truthfully. Someday, I hope that you will look in that reflection glass called a mirror and tell yourself the truth about who you are.

~~~~

© Carol Campbell 2016

Six Sentence Stories Prompt:

Resolve

https://unchartedblogdotorg.wordpress.com/2015/12/31/six-sentence-story-happy-new-year/

❤ ❤ ❤

 

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags18 Comments

18 thoughts on “Promise”

  1. I love it when we get to do this! I was very confrontational when I was younger and then when I had my girl I sort of dialed it down a few notches but in doing so I noticed that some got the wrong idea of me that I am a push over. I really am just a tired mom. So lately I’ve been doing a lot of this as well. I’d like to say it feels good but it doesn’t. Not at all. However it all needs to be said and expressed just so people know it’s not okay to lie and manipulate! Never okay! Bravo for you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      1. OH yes me too! I’ve been working on this for about 3 years you think I would get it but there are so many layers of them! At least for me! Personal boundaries are so important. I grew up with all my smashed in so it’s been hard establishing healthy ones. I have an old post about that and what God has been walking me through it’s taken so long to make sense of it all. I’ve just finished a lot of healing in this area. http://tellmeaboutit.co/2014/06/16/no-more-bullied-wordsdear-aggressive-controlling-personal-space-invader/

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Girl it’s been painful reestablishing them. Because it was so engrained in me to go along. Then I didn’t practice some of the things that people with boundaries do before they get in too deep. I’m right here with you in this. I think WP is one place where I’ve struggled the most so it’s been so liberating to learn this in a social arena! 😛 Applying it to my personal life has been painful. Laurie’s books have really helped me a lot! She’s so wise.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. They helped me so much! I can’t say how because it’s been such a major shift in my heart plus Laurie will help you personally! She really is a wonderful counselor and friend! If you feel to you should talk to her about this. Only if you feel too of course. Plus one thing I want you to know is I don’t have it all figured out at all. Today I feel like I’m in the dessert but so much healthier! 😀 love you too!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

