Approach

Aztec Temple Ken Kistler
Ken Kistler

She approached the Aztec ruin with a reverence unexpected in her atheist heart. The exact moment that her awareness dawned is lost to the overwhelming presence she felt from the ancient structures. Remembering all her history classes about that time of bloody sacrifice, she found herself trembling at the rawness of their belief in gods beyond her understanding. Asking herself how these people climbed those steps knowing that their hearts would be ripped out of their bodies and offered to placate deities that could not be seen nor heard. Retracing their steps in a mental space of complete identification with them, she was almost overcome by the experience. Reaching the summit, it became clear to her that they were terrified by the forces of this world in which they lived and had decided that in order to survive, they had to soothe the controllers of the weather, the earth and the other tribes near them.

~

© Carol Campbell 2016

Six Sentence Stories
https://unchartedblogdotorg.wordpress.com

https://unchartedblogdotorg.wordpress.com/2016/01/03/six-sentence-stories-get-a-cue/#like-2896

Prompt word is Exact.

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags9 Comments

9 thoughts on “Approach”

Leave a Reply

