Change

 

 

Bound by the taut wires of racism

Impossible suffering for centuries

Pressed to the limits of tolerance

The last glass of cold water spillt

Emaciated skeleton families shrinking

The moon of life’s pain is full mouthed

As the heads droop with hopelessness

Listen! The oppressed have earned gifts

The soul of trial has caused deep steps

Steps towards keeping the truth within

Truths to which the oppressors are blind

Those that we kept down shall surely set us free

Through them, we will find the change needed

Isn’t that always the way?

~~~~

© Carol Campbell 2016

The Sunday Whirl
The Sunday Whirl

https://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

233

❤ ❤ ❤

 

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories Uncategorized13 Comments

13 thoughts on “Change”

  1. One of my lifetime favourite singers, along with the late David Bowie, Sam Cooke’s untimely demise was one of the saddest days of my youth. I maintain that White people have gained far more from the presence of Blacks in this country, than we have appreciated, as a group, up to now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “The last glass of cold water spillt

    Emaciated skeleton families shrinking

    The moon of life’s pain is full mouthed

    As the heads droop with hopelessness” — wow what lyric power and prowess you exhibit in those lines! They each have a story tucked in them! What a brilliant poem using the words in the challenge. I also tackled this one but I didn’t get such wonderful stuff from it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. a most beautiful song. remember when in the movie Malcolm x they had denzel as Malcolm being drawn toward his final day. a change is gonna come. we will finally be truly “one nation, under god, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

