Lone

Tree panorama at winter night
Dollar Photo Club

lone tree

amidst the snow

the moon beckons

~

© Carol Campbell

Logo CD January 2016
Carpe Diem Haiku Kai January http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.com/

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.com/2016/01/carpe-diem-902-kangetsu-cold-moon.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+CarpeDiemHaikuKai+%28CARPE+DIEM+HAIKU+KAI%29

“We are exploring classical and modern kigo for winter. One of the characteristic features of a haiku is the use of a kigo or seasonword. This seasonword (kigo) points towards the time of year in which the haiku was written (or seen and later written). There are a lot of kigo and those kigo are all bound together in what is called a Saijiki. Today I have a classical kigo for you  Kangetsu (cold moon), and I have a few nice haiku for you with this kigo, all written by Buson, and starting with the same line “this cold moon”:

kangetsu ya kaisandoo no ki no ma yori

this cold moon –
among the trees
of the founder’s hall

kangetsu ya kareki no naka no take sankan

this cold moon –
among the bare trees
three stalks of bamboo

kangetsu ya koishi no sawaru kutsu no soko

this cold moon –
the soles of my shoes
touch small pebbles

kangetsu ya matsu no ochiba no ishi o iru

this cold moon –
fallen needles of pines
shoot into stones

kangetsu ya mon o tatakeba kutsu no oto

this cold moon –
after knocking at the (temple) door
the sound of wooden clogs

kangetsu ya zoo ni yuki-au hashi no ue

this cold moon –
I meet a monk
on the bridge

© Yosa Buson”

~Chevrefeuille

❤ ❤ ❤

 

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, 4 Comments

4 thoughts on “Lone”

  1. I had to do a double take. Is that the moon or the sun? I think it’s the sun but maybe there is some kind of photo filter. Kind of eerie, kind of otherworldly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

