Minerals

温泉イメージ
Dollar Photo Club

mineral bath

permeates my pores

cold winds blow

~

© Carol Campbell

Logo CD January 2016
Carpe Diem Haiku Kai January http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.com/

“January is running to its end and so is our prompt-list with classical and modern kigo for winter, running towards its end. Today I have a nice prompt for you based on Jane Reichhold’s “A Dictionary of Haiku”, in which she gathered modern kigo for all seasons. Today the modern kigo is hot springs and maybe you can remember that we have had this prompt earlier on CDHK, because of the haiku by Basho.

A hot spring is a spring produced by the emergence of geothermal heated groundwater that rises from the Earth’s crust. There are geothermal hot springs in many locations all over the crust of the earth. While some of these springs contain water that is the correct temperature for bathing, others are too hot to do so and immersion can result in injury or death. Of course in this episode the good geothermal hot springs are our theme.

tonight my skin
will miss the hot spring
it seems colder

© Basho (Tr. Jane Reichhold)

hot springs hidden
deep inside the holy mountain
giving new life

© Chèvrefeuille (April 2014)”

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags14 Comments

14 thoughts on “Minerals”

Leave a Reply

