Laptop

George Hodan Computers
George Hodan

The laptop on the desk

contains within

all knowledge

.

Black and streamlined

deceptive

in it’s simplicity

~~~~

© Carol Campbell

Dverse Poets Badge

IMAGE-ine: dVerse Meeting the Bar

Victoria Slotto is tending bar at the pub today and she has challenged us to write an imagist poem. Here’s her explanation which is much better than mine.

 

“Imagists sought to represent “things” in clear, precise language—in the words of Ezra Pound, “luminous details.” Notice in the oft-quoted poem above, by William Carlos Williams that nothing really happens. The words are pure description.
Imagism was influenced in part by Japanese poetry and even Cubism, the art form that sought to reduce an object to its purest essence. It generally employs no metaphors even though the reader may project some underlying meaning into the poem.

While the movement itself was relatively short-lived, its influence extends to subsequent poetry, and even prose. As writers we seek to bring life to our work by including sharp sensory descriptions.

In an article for Poetry Magazine in 1912, Ezra Pound defined the group’s position:
• Direct treatment of the “thing” whether subjective or objective.
• To use absolutely no word that does not contribute to the presentation.
• As regarding rhythm: to compose in sequence of the musical phrase, not in sequence of the metronome.”~Vitoria

I’m not sure I got this correctly but that’s the way I learn, by doing! 🙂

❤ ❤ ❤

 

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, 54 Comments

54 thoughts on “Laptop”

  1. So much contained in one small machine! I can empathize with your comments. I installed an update last night, which crashed things; and I was on the phone with Apple both last night and this morning! I am a ‘happy camper’ once again with everything working like new~

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes indeed. Clear, succinct and oh so visual. I’ve been at war with my computer since October. Can’t afford a new one yet so I just forge ahead and sometimes hoist the white flag. Deceptive in its simplicity….oh my yes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I went and checked it out and I have commented before but it presents a preview of my comment and is in a loop of publish/preview. I did leave a comment and please tell me whether you get it or not. Thank you.

      Like

      1. Yes, I received it this time. I know you used to comment on my stuff when you first started posting, but recently it seemed you had not so I wondered what happened. I know sometimes there is an odd kind of incompatibility between WordPress & Blogger…. Anyway, I cannot picture this publish/preview thing. But whatever you did this time WORKED, and I thank you… as I even wondered if somewhere along the line I had offended you.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I am still having trouble. I wrote to Sherry to see if she can help. I have made two comments since and the one you got was actually what taught me that my comments are not being submitted properly. There’s supposed to be a step where I confirm that I’m not a robot but that option only came up that one time. I think I better just comment as Carol and not Writersdream9. I’ll give that a try. I have been enjoying though and am glad you said something 🙂

        Like

  3. we need these shiny new automobiles for the mind. they also have been referred to as silicon snake-oil. oh, well. you can’t live with ’em, you can’t live without them!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

