Dreams~Rondel

Green field with tulips and carnations flowers
Dollar Photo Club

Fly me away to my dreamland

Filled with beauty and harmony

That place where my soul may be free

Lifted from this dark world so bland

~

Let us play and run in the sand

Frolic in the misty blue sea

Fly me away to my dreamland

Filled with beauty and harmony

~

Come along and take my sure hand

Leave behind this cacophony

Flowers and trees and honeybee

There we will find things oh so grand

Fly me away to my dreamland

~~~~

© Carol Campbell

Dverse Poets Badge

Meeting the Bar; the Rondel

Bodhirose is our teacher at Meeting the Bar this time and she brings us the Rondel. I’ll let her explain:

“The first two lines of the first quatrain are the refrain and are repeated as the last two lines of the second stanza and in the quintet (third stanza) the first line of your poem will be repeated on your 13th line.  The poem uses only two rhymes, so the structure of the poem looks like this:

1st line A
2nd line B
3rd line b (rhymes with B)
4th line a (rhymes with A)
5th line a (rhymes with A)
6th line b (rhymes with B)
7th line A (entire 1st line repeated)
8th line B (entire 2nd line repeated)
9th line a (rhymes with A)
10th line b (rhymes with B)
11th line b (rhymes with B)
12th line a (rhymes with A)
3th line A (entire 1st line repeated)

I have bolded the lines that are the refrains taken from the first two lines of the poem to illustrate where they will be placed.”

Thank you, Bodhirose!

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, 43 Comments

43 thoughts on “Dreams~Rondel”

  1. I’m so glad you gave the form a try, Carol, and you did beautifully. I love your light-hearted plea to fly away to peace and harmony. Who doesn’t want that?! I love that picture that accompanies your poem too…so pretty. It was my pleasure to “teach” you. :~)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

