Haibun of Love

Tired eyes can’t always hold your attention. Life has happened so often and for so many seasons that they have a sheen over them that is made of the pain and tears of the years. Looking into mother’s eyes had gotten to be very trying due to that.

 

Mind bright and aware, she lacked nothing as far as acuity. The pain, though, was the thickest veil that separated her mom from this world and the people she loved. The doctors had tried every medicine available and none reached into her and calmed the frayed nerve endings that cancer had ravaged. She never cried out. Attention would suddenly be focused and her fists would clench. That is how they came to know that the real suffering had returned.

 

That Friday, she visited at the facility where she stayed. Walking into the room, she caught her with a smile brightening her deeply lined face. Rushing towards her with hesitant hope, she prayed pleadingly that this was real.

 

“I am pain-free this morning.” she strongly said.

 

” The peace and comfort of the heavens settled on me last night. I know it’s time to go home now. I want to tell you just how much I love you before  my time comes and God has granted me that prayer. I love you, darling and you are my pride and joy!”

 

She smiled warmly, the veils gone from her eyes and quickly slipped away right then.

 

Later, the doctors told the grieving daughter that her mom had died during the night! ” But, I just talked to her”, she cried.

 

“Miss, that’s not possible because she passed last night”, they replied.

 

Love crosses all barriers. Even those between life and death.

 

darkness surrounds

institutional hallways

one lone light shines

 

© Carol Campbell

mindlovemisery badge
https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2016/02/10/heeding-haiku-with-chevrefeuille-february-10th-2016/

Heeding Haiku with Chevrefeuille has the prompt of writing a haibun about love.

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, 8 Comments

8 thoughts on “Haibun of Love”

  1. the one lone light, the light of her soul. beautiful story. acceptance and forgiveness, relief and release from this end. how wonderful it must be at the other end, a hallway full of lights, every tear wiped away, no more grief.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

