Turns A Phrase

Don’t trust the cannibal just ‘cos he’s usin’ a knife and fork.~Terry Pratchett

 

Takes what I say and

turns it

turns it around and

around until I don’t know

where I begin and he

ends

his saccharine words climb

up from his belly

convincing all that

he’s real like a cornfield

on a rainy day

watch out for that far-reaching

steel grip that captures

your heart and then

tears it in

two

RISE to yourself

like the rose that you are

~~~~

© Carol Campbell

Imaginary Garden
Imaginary Garden With Real Toads

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2016/02/sunday-mini-challenge-carpe-jugulum.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+ImaginaryGardenWithRealToads+%28imaginary+garden+with+real+toads%29

“Appearance is not the most reliable of mistresses. But we do have to start somewhere, don’t we? Welcome to the Sunday Mini-Challenge, dearest Toads. This weekend, I’m calling for poetry that explores what eyes, brains and instincts ca”n see when they work as a team in the art of making sense of the world and the behavior of its people.

How are we going to do that? Easy… we’ll use the following quote, from Terry Pratchett’s Carpe Jugulum, as a foundation: “Don’t trust the cannibal just ’cos he’s usin’ a knife and fork!”’~Magaly Guererro

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, 20 Comments

20 thoughts on “Turns A Phrase”

  1. since i have to start with a quote about not trusting something i see “” I am blind afterall at least legally… in all my time on this planet i’ve never seen avything clearer than when to utilize a ruse. you’d think i’d perpetrate more of them as i’ve felt so many played at my expense – but I haven’t the tricks yet. not trusting someone because they’ve good manners is fairly easy and hard- I’m rarely fooled but a good lie is charming and who would not like to be about charming people? here comes the cannibals. but so ‘ do you like me?” it’s a simple junior high school question and she’s not particularly ugly…I smell a rat.. however the trap was set before i was allowed the defense and the anser is yes to I’d rather be dead in a plague pit go away… one isn’t likely to try this ruse onwith foul manners and sour disposition…. so the heart remains hidden for the sake of the game just enough. now flash about forward to a lifetime later – I have a gal who arrives to be a roommate in our hedonistic pleasure palace sounding home now but no, not really and? i like her fire. she doesn’t match the house for any number of reasons me romantically interested could be the first and? leaves however i’m kept up with i like her but the opening dates 3 months of zilch contact between are perhaps school life related but each meeting is always the night before I must work – I wanted that job and i made temporary or interim director at it’s activities before moving on..always the same no oleaving til obliterated.. but i cant play I have to work. no pattern change either in fact i swore 3 drinks in was the only time i was even remembered…angry angry me… and the last meeting is an I love you a year and change later I’m so literally bile ill babbysitting to arrive tired and robbed thne next day to my own fight i paused. you don’t need to think about the response of understanding the pause was fatal but meant. I couldn’t continue if that’s the terms i had. but as we all know how communication of this sort really works as in what communication, was i a userous bum to lead her on? she’s still attractive, she’s still nice but beyond me to sort or suss and I still care miles behind here now. the answer remains the same – don’t trust a cannibal because they’re using a knife and fork… I can not trust charm to be easy to get on with or push for the best in life when it’s bent on destruction. I can not be always nice when I’m just as easily guilty of leading one on for a time knowing there is no way she couldn’t like bme but I couldn’t say the same. nor can it be kind to walk into a punch of a set up from those I liked a lifetime back. but, trust isn’t the problem charm is…who can say they’ve never seen it or smelled it at least coming our way and ambled along none the same? i however wanted a different lead in point 😉 i see more than heartache this lifetime 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “good fences make good neighbors.” learning to live with, be able to make, and to respect another’s, boundaries…that’s an art to living, one’s authentic self.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. wow:
    “watch out for that far-reaching

    steel grip that captures

    your heart and then

    tears it in

    two” — wow, he’s a real heartbreaker.

    First off, great quote! I love the details you wove into this poem and the comparison! Especially the cornfield one. and the ending! “RISE to yourself

    like the rose that you are” — such an uplifting and empowering end!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

