Sunset

Sunset
Dollar Photo Club

Standing on the beach at sunset

Asking myself if there is really hope

~

Standing on the beach at sunset

For a healing answer, I grope

~

Standing on the beach at sunset

I fiercely gaze at her to  create a trope

~

Standing on the beach at sunset

Calling upon her to send me a rope

~

Standing on the beach at sunset

~~~~

© Carol Campbell

Dverse Poets Badge

Me, Myself and I…or is it? dVerse Meeting the Bar

Victoria is hosting this time and here’s what she says:

For today’s prompt, I would like you to write a poem using the first person–an apparent first person. Perhaps you will leave your reader wondering if you are actually the “person” of if this is a fictional character. I’d like to see you bring an event that may or may not be true. I even challenge you to assume an alter ego and to write a poem in the first person of someone whose point of view and life experience is diametrically opposed to your own. In this way, this will become an exercise, not only in use of the first person to create an intimate portrait of the character, but also a means to stretch your story-telling imagination.

❤ ❤ ❤

 

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, 31 Comments

31 thoughts on “Sunset”

  1. The repetition here is wonderful. To me, standing by the ocean is peaceful. The waves continuing tells me there is hope, that life moves on, even if stormy. The sunset says to me, end of this day, let’s sleep and start a new one. Hope, new beginnings, help when needed….may not come when we want them to but they do come – just like waves! I so enjoyed this one.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with Bjorn. Repetitions work like waves….. I like the idea of asking someone to bring a rope. In this case it sounds like a hopeful rope (smiles) rather than a rope that could be used for another purpose!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. After every sunset
    comes a rise
    above so
    below..
    and Nature
    SinGs a never
    ending SonG
    oF Hope
    iN
    Faith
    oF Now..
    Believe iS Next
    alWays now..
    Truth
    liGht
    we too
    set
    rise
    iN arT oF uS..
    never ending
    rhythm
    for those
    who
    synch
    iN balance
    wiTh rest oF
    God’s NatUre FREE..:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

