Brother~FFfPP

Kids Toys from Fisher Price
http://publicdomainarchive.com/public-domain-images-vintage-kids-toys-books-fisherprice/

 

She had kept the room exactly as it had been for 45 years. Everything dusted and cared for as if a child from the past was going to run home from school and be welcomed by a fun filled room of toys. “What kind of love expresses itself that way?”, he asked himself.

 

Gary had been climbing the old oak down the street, that overcast day. His younger brother was adventurous in a way that he could not relate to being a bookaholic from an early age. The love between them was sincere but time spent together rare. In his room, he heard one of Gary’s friends yelling. “Mrs. Martin! Mrs. Martin! Come here. quick!” Lying on the ground with blood pouring out of his 6-year-old head was a sight he would never forget. It had marked his life forever. He missed Gary very much. The love of his mother, though, was a love that, at that moment, he envied. The dedication that she had displayed touched his heart.

 

Sorting through her belongings was a job he had dreaded but now he looked forward to it. He would honor her by carefully disposing of everything that had meaning to her. He was sure that many people would enjoy!

~

© Carol Campbell

208 Words

Flash Fiction for the Purposeful Practitioner
https://rogershipp.wordpress.com

https://rogershipp.wordpress.com/2016/02/26/flash-fiction-for-the-purposeful-practitioner-week-9-2016/

Photo challenge for flash fiction.

❤ ❤ ❤

 

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags13 Comments

13 thoughts on “Brother~FFfPP”

Leave a Reply

