Haibun Monday on Wednesday

We were hippies of the truest form. The only departures we made from that lifestyle were that we didn’t do drugs and we didn’t really go for the whole free love idea. It was a snowy Winter’s day in December in 1976. There were five of us in a, yes you guessed it, a VW van. It was orange, I think. Early one morning we set out from Maine with the goal of getting to New Mexico in a couple of days time. The current folk tunes were playing on the radio. The plan was to stay at the homes of friends along the route. We were on a spiritual quest and nothing was gong to stop us. There were many adventures but I will tell of the most challenging. The heater in the van broke as it was wont to do in that model. In the cold and snow. We carried on though and when it was not our turn driving, we huddled together in the back to keep warm. All of us arrived in the promised land right on time and spent weeks with the other hippies and some patient Native Americans who were kind enough to share themselves with us. It was a sacred journey.

Land of enchantment

cacti and roadrunners

three cultures united

~~

© Carol Campbell

Dverse Poets Badge

Haibun Monday #8

Rajani was the host at haibun Monday this week you can find her at:

https://thotpurge.wordpress.com/

She asked us to write about a memorable journey that we’ve undertaken. Thank you, Rajani.

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, 32 Comments

32 thoughts on “Haibun Monday on Wednesday”

  1. As a hippy wannabe I loved it Carol! Especially the part about the heater failing because if you’ve ever driven a VW in the winter you know the heater barely works as is! I like the 3 different groups coming together in true hippy form too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve just ‘virtually’ visited New Mexico, doing some research about the Voynich Manuscript, an undecipherable old manuscript with plants and other stuff. Not my subject as such, just interested as an artist. What else but a VW (Virtual World) will get me to these places? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

