Comparison Haiku

Comparison Haiku
Dollar Photo Club

stalwart blooms

amidst the snow and ice

we stay steadfast

~

© Carol Campbell

Logo Carpe Diem March 2016 (2)

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.com/

a sky full of stars

how improbable
my parents would meet

© Robert Mainone

A haiku in which the comparison is used, needs two parts. In this haiku the “sky full of stars” is compared to “the meeting of parents” and the million-to-one chance of that happening. The poet has achieved an aha moment! with the connection.

Using comparison is not easy, but at the other hand it’s an easy to choose way to make your haiku a beauty. I don’t think that I am using this technique very often, but it makes it sometimes easy, that through by e.g. lack of inspiration, you just need to bring together two different images / scenes to create a beautiful haiku … so here is my haiku in which I have used comparison.

in the early sunlight
morning dew evaporates –
spirits climb to the sky

© Chèvrefeuille

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, 19 Comments

19 thoughts on “Comparison Haiku”

      1. Carol, I know I’m dumb, but I can’t think how to post my link for this prompt. I’ll see if I can figure it out from yours…I know I’m a copy cat 🙂

        Like

Leave a comment