Spirit of Ransetsu

raindrops on petals

they fall down to the dark earth

 a breeze passes by

~

© Carol Campbell

Logo Carpe Diem March 2016 (2)

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.com/

From Chevrefeuille:

Ransetsu was a disciple of Basho, and his allegiance was so strong that when he died Ransetsu is said to have shaved his head and embraced Buddhism. Basho is said to have remarked “I cannot equal Ransetsu in poetical austerity.”
Just like Basho, Ransetsu also spent time travelling and recorded this in his dairies with haiku. Ransetsu was counted by Master Yosa Buson as one of four great haiku poets to be visited by aspiring poets…

one leaf falls
now, another leaf falls
in the wind

At dusk the harvest moon
paints a pine-tree
against the blue

In stony moonlight
hills and fields on every side
white and bald as eggs …

Above the pilgrims
chanting on a misty road
wild geese are flying

New year’s day
The sky is cloudless;
Sparrows are gossiping

© Ransetsu (Tr. unknown)

❤ ❤ ❤

 

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, 11 Comments

11 thoughts on “Spirit of Ransetsu”

Leave a Reply

