A Quote Haibun

View of the Fervena Waterfall near Sintra, Portugal
Dollar Photo Club

About 2 miles in on my hike, the rushing sound of water increased dramatically. My pace quickened in anticipation of seeing the waterfall. It was one of those that came from apparently still waters but when it reached the rock cliff it fell hard and fast. Since childhood, water of every kind had this effect on me. In a few minutes, I reached my destination and sat down and soaked up the spirit of this place. There is a spirit to these spots in nature and they are very healing. For days after my journey, I could hear the sound of the water from every tree and every flower. It was a part of me.

snow melts

waterfall rushes

water sounds

~

© Carol Campbell

mindlovemisery badge
https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2016/03/09/heeding-haiku-with-chevrefeuille-march-9th-2016/

Heeding haiku with Chevrefeuille

“But for this episode I have a wonderful quote by Basho to inspire you to write a haibun. Here is your source for inspiration, a quote by Basho:

[…] “The temple bell stops but I still hear the sound coming out of the flowers.” […] Matsuo Basho

To make this challenge a bit more challenging I have a few “rules” for your haibun:

+ A maximum of 250 words (including the haiku)
+ Try to use a “kigo” (or seasonword) in the haiku of your haibun
+ Your haiku doesn’t need to follow the classical 5-7-5 syllables count, I even would challenge you to create a haiku with 3-5-3 or even lesser syllables

Well …. it’s up to you now. Have fun!”

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, , 17 Comments

17 thoughts on “A Quote Haibun”

  1. I really enjoyed reading this. The pace of the writing really matched your excitment about nearing the waterfall. – the haiku at the end has the immediacy of a waterfall.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

