Substantively

Allan Showalter Graphic from Leonard Cohen
Graphic via Allan Showalter on Leonard Cohen’s Facebook page: an excerpt from the interview “At Lunch With Leonard Cohen; Philosophical Songwriter On A Wire”, by Jon Pareles. New York Times: Oct 11, 1995

Deep hunger in my belly

Desire to be real and true

Letting the world see me

Shown only to a rare few

Friends to share with freely

Without wanting all their “due”

Sharing truth with gravity

No matter what our hue

Living a life substantively

~~~~

© Carol Campbell

Imaginary Garden
Imaginary Garden With Real Toads

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

From Grapeling in the Garden:

This month’s word list:

gravity
friend
able
serious
hungry
touch
work
aspect
nourish(ment)
… or any others you choose from the quote.

As a reminder: select 3 or more of these words (or reasonable variants), write a (voluptuous) new piece and post it to your blog, then link that specific poem into Mr. Linky, below.

Please go visit this great site!

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, , 24 Comments

24 thoughts on “Substantively”

  1. I muse on that when i feel low. as if i could somehow magically superhero something percieved beyond me but isn’t….as if that would by mere fact make others attitudes melt. I haven’t the widest sourcebook education on faith issues so i have to rely on the judeo/christian aspects of what is most i know – and i’m gently then reminded that wordsw of faith or opinions can die hard as in be held dispite fact to death…. the key being despite fact so superheroing up proof wouldn’t so much be the key but looking for the desire to see proof might be…which amounts to hairsplitting but not really.
    such is a long preamble for- who said I am not serious every minute of my frivolities? I could say i’m serious because i read war and peace which is a distortion, it was read to me courtesy of one library I patronize. boring tale to me. but then again why wouldn’t it be? i do not relate well to courtly living and don’t have such a cultivated array of friends – thus from the outset I’d miss much of the social interplay and grandeur attempted. I’m able to bake so I’m reading “In search of the perfect loaf” sam’l fromartz. wherein i learn to the species what wheats we use and how one aspect of the protein base which many previously modern wheats was crossed with wild goat grass to bring back a richer genetic diversity – it has been shown that this subset of proteins now is slightly toxic to people i.e. gluten sensitivity. whereas older artisianal grains do not have this toxic subset issue or not to any large thus edible degree. also the very tempurature conditions from job/commercial baking being elevated and better controlled than the lower home temps produce bacterial conditions one for lactic acids producers at home which gives about a creaminess versus the harsher acetic acids set of commercial types or thus the sweet and sours that one can have neither right nor wrong simply different – but that this fermentation is far more responsible for the tastes of bread fundamentally than just the flour itself…not saying your going to make the rye into whole wheat or anything but still.. the point here is seriousness. am i a tad more knowledgable thus now serious because i can reproduce the idea of a pliny the elder ancient roman era sourdough? no, just verbose. 😉 and not necessarily any the wiser either. 😉
    but now to those who can gain stature within society- am i any less lucky to be able to be a living testimony that it may not matter all that howling effort to get others to notice and elevate us as if they had two dozen roses and wanted her like that country tune to change her mind? no. this doesn’t mean the efforts spent are useless or that a reputation of hard work and precision is a lousy reputation – it does mean though that i’m serious, so are they but something subtley different dictates the fortunes of fate or success 😉
    or, maybe i’m joking.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. One of life’s more wonderful pleasures is to find those friends with whom you can be real with. I am grateful for people like that. You’ve created a lovely tribute to friendship.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ‘sharing truth with gravity’ – what a great line. I read these as lyrics – a keen musicality that underscores the wisdom of your lines. thank you for adding your voice ~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

