Exaltation

The song of exaltation

Bringing healing to nations

~

A choir of sweet voices

Sharing with us our choices

~

Are we ready for real peace?

Will hatred finally cease?

~

Arise to our destiny

Bringing out our empathy

~

Sing out like the lark at dawn

Change the course we are now on

~

PEACE

~~~~

© Carol Campbell

Dverse Poets Badge

Poetics : Poetry is for the Birds

For Poetics this week, De Jackson teaches us the names of bird groups. I chose the Lark who, when in a group is called an Exaltation. I love these names. I’ll share de’s compilation:

A bevy of quail
A bouquet of pheasants [when flushed]
A brood of hens
A cast of hawks [or falcons]
A colony of penguins
A congregation of plovers
A deceit of lapwings
A descent of woodpeckers
An exaltation of larks
A fall of woodcocks
A flight of swallows [or doves, goshawks, or cormorants]
A gaggle of geese [wild or domesticated]
A host of sparrows
A kettle of hawks [riding a thermal]
A murmuration of starlings
A murder of crows
A muster of storks
An ostentation of peacocks
A paddling of ducks [on the water]
A parliament of owls
A raft of ducks
A siege of herons
A skein of geese [in flight]
A tidings of magpies
An unkindness of ravens
A wisp of snipe

Aren’t they delightful?

Thanks, De!

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags30 Comments

30 thoughts on “Exaltation”

  1. what’s this, carol? going multimedia on us? far out! and the lark? with him/her puffing up his/her wings while perched, I feel a bird turd is imminent. watch out. seriously, a beautiful poem with a beautiful sentiment for peace. guess what? looks like I can get to your wordpress directly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Are we ready for peace? That is what it comes down to. We look desperately for answers when the power of change is a multitude of individual minds and hearts…and you’re right, it starts with empathy…which is taught and learned….or not.
    Beautiful messages of peace in your poem! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. SMiLes.. my friend..
    aLL birds tEach
    a lesSon to land
    mammals like
    uS.. FLow wITh
    gOlden spiRAl
    PHi
    ’round
    Sun
    witH
    EartH
    WiNd
    WaTer
    and FiRe oF
    wAves iN ocean
    sAMe.. inviSible
    to preDator and
    pRay.. masteRinG
    graViTy
    iN
    co
    op
    WiTh
    God iNow..:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

