Karumi Haiku

Boat
https://pixabay.com/en/margarita-island-sunset-boat-139400/

boat at sunset

calm and still waters

my father has set

~

© Carol Campbell

Logo CD Special March 2016 (1)

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.com/

asajimo ya shi no sune omou yuki no kure

morning frost –
I think of the shins of my master
on a night with snow


© Yaba
Yaba wrote the following haiku when he heard the news of Basho’s death

chikara na ya hiza o kakaete fuyugomori

no strenght left –
I wrap my arms around my knees
in winter solitude

© Yaba

Especially the idea that Yaba’s haiku writing style is mentioned as “karumi” (lightness) and that’s one of the haiku writing techniques which Basho used also and which we will see in the last regular episode of this month.

I found a nice haiku composed by Yozakura, also a disciple of Basho, in which I read the same intensity as in the haiku by Yaba.

feeling alone
lost in the woods around Edo –
just the autumn wind

© Yozakura

It’s even possible that Yozakura this one wrote when he heard of Basho’s death, there is however no “evidence” for that idea.

a gust of wind
a hat tolls around and around –
camellia flower

© Chèvrefeuille

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags21 Comments

21 thoughts on “Karumi Haiku”

Leave a Reply

