Haiga on Rain

Rainy Haiga
https://pixabay.com/en/rain-rainy-day-park-weather-411784/

A warm spring day and I walked alone. The breeze was divine as it caressed my shoulders. The fresh air was laden with the scent of roses. I was in paradise. I remember clearly that I looked around for someone to share this delight with but alas, there were only the lampposts.

Suddenly, the breeze became a little chillier signaling that a seasonal rain shower was on its way. As I scrambled for my umbrella, the drops cascaded down as if in a race for the Earth. I stopped and realized that I did not need that umbrella. I could dance in the rain. Feel the cool drops wash away my melancholy and accompany me on my walk.

raindrops on metal

the tinny sound of bells 

joy’s storm

~~~~

© Carol Campbell

Carpe Diem Logo april 2016

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.com/

Today we have a nice prompt to write / create haiku or haiga about rain / raindrops and I think this prompt don’t need explanation.

To inspire you all I dived into my (rich) archives and found a few nice haiku and haiga to share here.

First I love to share a haiku by (my master) Matsuo Basho for this prompt:

passing through the world
indeed this is just
Sogi’s rain shelter

© Basho

sweet perfume
mingles with the sound of rain –
a dog barks

© Chèvrefeuille

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, 10 Comments

10 thoughts on “Haiga on Rain”

Leave a Reply

