Heeding Haiku~Haibun

Chess
https://pixabay.com/en/chess-chess-board-chess-pieces-195748/

You were determined that I learn to play chess. Chess was always your way of relaxing and unwinding. I, on the other hand, would rather dig in my garden or walk by the sea. That day in May, you decided that the perfect way to get me to play was to have a game outside. This would be your perfect solution. You know, I love you for that. I love that not only do you know me but you want to know me better.

 

Do you remember how difficult it was for me, loving tree-hugger, to focus on the logic needed to play this game of kings? I do with great fondness even though I lost that game. We compliment each other, my love. If I could but recount all the gifts you’ve given me. How much I have learned from you. It is also thrilling to see you connecting with the softer sciences through your dedication to understanding me.

 

All this means is that I love you. Your mathematical mind, your love for astronomy, and yes, even your skepticism. Isn’t God wonderful that he would bring together two such polar opposites. I think it is His plan to show the truth of unity in diversity.

© Carol Campbell

a game of chess

while a skylark sings it’s song –

I lost the game

© Chèvrefeuille

mindlovemisery badge
https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2016/04/27/heeding-haiku-with-chevrefeuille-april-27th-2016-a-game-of-chess/

From Chevrefeuille:

Dear friends at MLMM,

It’s Wednesday again and it is time for a new episode of Heeding Haiku With … Last week I challenged you to create haiku with words with double meanings so this week it’s time for haibun. As you all (maybe) know haibun is prose and poetry together, like e.g. Basho’s famous “Small Road Into The Deep North”. This week I love to challenge you to create a haibun in which you have to use a haiku written by me.
Several weeks ago in one of the Photo Challenges here at MLMM we had a gorgeous photo of an outdoor chess game and the haiku which I wrote towards that photo is the haiku you have to use this week for your haibun.

Next to the use of the haiku I have a few other rules you have to use:

1: You have to place the haibun in spring
2. The given haiku has to be used (as an inspiration or as the concluding haiku of the haibun)
3. A maximum of 250 words (including the haiku)

Here is the haiku you have to use as said above:

a game of chess
while a skylark sings it’s song –
I lost the game

© Chèvrefeuille

❤ ❤ ❤

 

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, 17 Comments

17 thoughts on “Heeding Haiku~Haibun”

  1. this is a wonderful interpretation of the prompt – as well as a touching exploration of a relationship – a game within the game of life …. and there is a gentleness and humility offered, captured by your words, a true appreciation and understanding that opposites exist within us all, for we are all and nothing, and even when we are significantly opposite, there can be unity, if the desire to work for each other is there. Lovely Carol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

