Mother’s Day

Mother's Day
https://pixabay.com/en/still-lifes-flowers-hydrangea-1202401/

Tomorrow is the day that we honor mothers most and I want to muse a little while here regarding what it all means to me. I was adopted to an older couple who loved me very much. They were strong veterans of WWII and my father also of the Korean war. Strong, capable and…alcoholic. I know that they did their best and I love them and miss them very much. My father died when I was 12 and my mother carried on with great determination and grit. I am sure this is the reason my father loved her so. She was and always will be my true mom. Mom, I love and miss you every day!

Later, when I was 22, I searched for and found my birthmother. I can’t tell you the joy I felt looking at someone and seeing parts of myself in them. Physically, I resembeld someone for the first time in my life. Her name was Elizabeth and I will always be grateful to her for giving me life. Thank you, Elizabeth. I am eternally grateful!

All my life I longed to be a mother myself. One could analize that and conclude that I wanted to mother myslef through that experience and while that is true there was so much more to me. From childhood, I dreamed of motherhood. I even had the names of my boy and girl picked out. In 1978 that dream came true on one hand when our son was born. He is my precious and infused the truth of what motherhood really means into my life. Through his reality, I see the selflessness, care, endurance and honesty that mothers need to raise children. I must say, he was and is one of my greatest teachers. Son, you are truly my treasure and my pride and joy!

To all mothers I say, we stumble, we fall but we love our children and with that love our entire planet can be healed and transformed as we try to send out individuals that are a lttle bit greater than we were or even dreamed of being.

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!!

❤ ❤ ❤

 

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories Uncategorized25 Comments

25 thoughts on “Mother’s Day”

    1. Do tell your wife I too am a muse to the same desperation ♥^_^♥ *long sigh*. . . Yet, your words Carol are so comforting and always much needed, thank you much for sharing your thoughts and love lessons. ❤

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

