Passages

Passages
https://pixabay.com/en/road-breakthrough-passage-1090455/

Narrow spaces

That squeeze until you can’t breathe

Unfriendly faces

Mocking who you are in every way

Passages through time and space

Through birth

That journey filled with joy and fear

Through life

The mountains that must be climbed

Passages through time and space

Joys fulfilling

The moments of true connection

Sorrows crushing

The moments of deep and searing loss

Passages through time and space

So many questions

Why, what, who am I

So  many answers

My name, my age, my place

Passages through time and space

Will death eliminate me?

Cessation of my only existence

Or will death set me free?

Free to be who God created me to be

Passages through time and space

~~~~

© Carol Campbell

Imaginary Garden
Imaginary Garden With Real Toads

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

From Brendan McOdrum:

For this challenge, write about something that is both harrowing and hallowed. Rough up an experience with that dreadful harrow then look at it in the opposite way, the lair of death become golden stair. Given the impending holiday, many of you might think of mothering / motherhood as an example of this to explore in your contribution. Or maybe there’s a place in your day or local geography which is both harrowing and hallowed. Maybe it’s the loss of a loved one passing slowly into myth. Or some other dark time in your life which has taught you some of the greatest lessons you’ve learned.

Who knows what music and mystery we’ll find in our Infernos!

❤ ❤ ❤

 

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, 18 Comments

18 thoughts on “Passages”

  1. “Or will death set me free?
    Free to be who God created me to be” — I want this to be so. I want my sister to be free of every constraint life placed on her so she may be fully who she was meant to be and I hope to see her again and discover what she became.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful reflections here, Carol. Anticipation of death is a harrow we constantly fret, yet somehow something turns within — acceptance? humility? and the feared event becomes hallowed. A birth. Keep writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

