606px-silence_waterfall_and_forest_by_arthur_bowen_davies_dayton_art_institute
Silence by Arthur Bowen Davies from Dayton Art Institute

She stands by the waterfall.
Tresses flowing down in droplets.
A silent tree amidst a grove.
The hush as the river sighs.
An eagle’s tears cascade down.

Abandoned like an old shoe.
Energies ripple from her brow.
A fawn arises; meets the dawn.
Awaiting the dell’s mistress.
She stands by the waterfall

Sound explodes across the land.
The dance begins twixt moon and sun.
Reflected in her lithe movements.
Hallowed becomes the day.
Tresses flowing down in droplets.

Stately oaks sway to and fro.
Leaves whisper as if in the know.
The bark expands as the sap flows.
All alive in noiseless joy.
A silent tree amidst a grove.

To whom does that river run?
Staying the bounds of lands end.
Carrying its life to the sea.
Joy and gladness in its course.
The hush as the river sighs.

In the clouds, there is a hope.
They gaze to the heavens for signs.
As they follow the river’s way,
A woeful cry issues forth.
An eagle’s tears cascade down.

~~~~

© Carol Campbell

Jane Dougherty’s Poetry Challenge #33

https://janedougherty.wordpress.com/2016/06/01/poetry-challenge-33-silent-cascade/

Jane asked us to write a Cascasde about the above picture using these words:

Cascade/tresses/eagle/abandon/ripple

❤ ❤ ❤

 

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags16 Comments

16 thoughts on “”

Leave a Reply

