Come Ashore

 

andreassen_olav_johan_stormnatten_olje_pacc8a_lerret
Andrewssen Olav Johan Stormnatten

 

The night stretched across the expanse of nine days. My foot was swollen to the size of a large catfish. Its stink was fishy also. I knew I was in trouble but I hid that fact from my compatriots whom life had equally besieged with enough trauma to last several lifetimes. My foot was nothing compared to my soul’s loss of my Analia. I watched as she slipped away here in this very cramped and smelly craft. Had God forgotten about my country? Had He forgotten about the people whom I loved? Had He forgotten about me?

To my right as I hung over the side I heard my brother’s quiet weeping. Sleep was not our friend and staying awake was a torture that robbed us of any peace. So many had lost their children, mothers, and fathers and we had all lost our homeland. Peering through the darkness, praying to see land yet not knowing whether we would be welcome was our only pastime and it was excruciating as day followed day. No land in sight.

In the wee hours of the dawning of our 10th day, I heard a muffled shout from one of the other boats. After a few tries, I understood the word земљиште, land! Disbelief flooded me and those in that vessel as joy tried to gain ascendancy and be the emotion of the moment. I rose up from my crouched position and saw the blackness that had been my blanket swirl around and envelope me until I could feel no more. I collapsed into the cold sea. The last thing I heard was my brother screaming my name but Analia called me to her more loudly and more compellingly. My darling!!

~~

© Carol Campbell

https://janedougherty.wordpress.com/2016/10/14/microfiction-challenge-18-lost/

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags12 Comments

12 thoughts on “Come Ashore”

  1. This was a very poignant piece of writing dear Carol which could be set in any time line right now.. From those first explorers, to those who flee their countries today.. Your heart sees into many a soul dear Carol and your writing captivates the imagination and sets us within its scenes.. A great talent you have Carol.. xx ❤ Hugs my friend x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

