Alleys

MMLM by Nelson L cc by 2.0
Nelson L.

The four of them entered the back alleyway with great trepidation. This was odd because they were all city dwellers since birth and used to dark streets. For some reason though, this alley way had a different feel to it. A kind of otherworldly quality. Being street smart, they ventured forward a little slower than usual with their senses heightened. It was very quiet. The kind of quiet that speaks of reverence and awe. Quiet like a wheat field on a Summer’s night. Halfway down, they began to feel a strange sensation of fracturing or atoms splicing and dicing. It felt like they were literally coming apart. Ahead, the way was brighter beckoning them forward despite the difficulties presented by their bodies’ splitting.

If they could see themselves from behind, the scene would have been one of blurring or fading away, for you see they had come upon their time. They were on the path to the next world. The realities of this final journey were very different from the street’s lined with gold reported by near-death survivors. This would seem to show that the two worlds were closer than they ever imagined. Perhaps there is only a thin veil between them and the realm on high. A reflection of one another. This would somehow comfort them as they passed from one room to the other. If only they could hear.

~

© Carol Campbell 2015

mindlovemisery badge
Mindlovemisery Badge

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2015/11/24/photo-challenge-88/

Photo Challenge From Mindlovemisery Menagerie.

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories Uncategorized16 Comments

16 thoughts on “Alleys”

  1. Thanks for sharing your response Carol 🙂

    It is certainly an interesting little spin of a tale – transitions and “veils” and crossing over …. and I’m glad the photo offered you inspiration. I enjoyed how you made use of the “ambiance and lighting in the image’ as a spark to your tingling ideas of splitting atoms and particles and energy.

    Cheers ~Pat

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wondered if one of them made a group dare. maybe they interrupted themselves while joking out loud with one another. or maybe some dialogue, like: “oh, like, what do we see here? haven’t seen this alleyway before. what’s down here?”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment