The Course~Sunday Photo Fiction

Sunday fiction
Sunday Photo Fiction

Upon the hill, the view is all encompassing. Taking in the many different ways that humans have of getting from one place to another. Her angst was thick. Frustration rising inside that seemed to not want to quit. The view of the sea was so carved up by the presence of industry that it made her weep. Where were the gentle waves lapping upon the yielding sands? Where were the unassuming sailboats gliding tenderly over the waves? The days were different. Filled with cold hard concrete that soiled her soul. she longed for a time when she will be able to enjoy creation without the overpowering mark of the human being. When a tree was seen as a part of a forest, not as dollar bills made sticky by the grubby hands of materialism. The day when humanity’s presence will be a contribution to the world not a blight upon it.

 

Putting her phone back in her purse, she turned and there saw, one single wildflower growing amidst the citified landscape. A purple flower reaching for the light in all its midday glory. If there were such things as signs, this surely was one. Her heart filled with hope and trust.

~~~~

© Carol Campbell

Sunday Photo Fiction
Sunday Photo Fiction

Photo Prompt from:

https://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2016/02/07/sunday-photo-fiction-february-7th-2016/

200-word fiction.

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags7 Comments

7 thoughts on “The Course~Sunday Photo Fiction”

  1. “Where were the gentle waves lapping upon the yielding sands? Where were the unassuming sailboats gliding tenderly over the waves? The days were different. Filled with cold hard concrete that soiled her soul. ” — beautiful writing, beautiful sentiments! I love the ending, that little flower and its symbol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sometimes we have to numb our soul and our sight just to travel through a city or some built up area like in the photo. but even even a little flower can gladden and refresh the spirit. Life. Green.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment