Days~A Golden Shovel

Watch
https://pixabay.com/en/children-boy-girl-young-play-231934/

How many times we sang a

tune. Those days when we thought

that all life was unfolding,

carrying us to enchanted lands across

time and space beautifully within somebody’s

precious and joy filled face

~

© Carol Campbell

Dverse Poets Badge

dVerse Meeting the Bar: the Golden Shovel Form

Meeting the bar was hosted by De Jackson of Whimseygizmo fame. Here’s here challenge:

Here are the rules, in a nutshell:

– Take a line (or lines) from a poem you admire.
– Use each word in the line(s) as an END word in your poem.
– Keep the words from the original line in order. When finished, you will be able to read down the right margin, and have the original chosen line intact.
– Give credit to the poet who wrote the line(s). You may also want to include a link to the original poem, so we can see your inspiration.
– The new poem does not have to be about the same subject matter, but it can be in a similar vein, if you choose. Or not.

For example, if you choose a line with 6 words, your poem will be 6 lines long. If you pull a whole stanza with 22 words, your poem would be 22 lines long. Etc. There are no rules for meter, syllable count, etc. You can place two words per line, or as many as you want, so long as the last word of each line stays true to the original inspiration.

~~~~

I chose the poet Ari Banias’ poem from this year entitled A Sunset, which can be found at,

https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/sunset

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, 18 Comments

18 thoughts on “Days~A Golden Shovel”

  1. it’s funny, but I see this poem as a reminiscence of childhood days and the freedom of life in those hours. shared with a sibling, it is even better!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment