Spent

Kissed
https://pixabay.com/en/web-spider-drops-rain-blur-net-1168363/

 

Hallowed spider web
Woven in the night
Busily strung by one
Dewdrops ornate
Crystalizing her heart
The moon illuminates
Her work is finally done
What shall she snare
In the day or in the night
Of a sudden, a scent
Lilacs waft o’er her lair
Breezes offer a lullaby
The taste of lady bug
Fills her senses with joy.

~

© Carol Campbell

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories Uncategorized15 Comments

15 thoughts on “Spent”

  1. Poor Lady Bug!.. 🙂

    Lovely poem Carol.. and yes I marvel often how those spiders build overnight.. I have had to apologise to many this past week in the garden.. But I did rescue a huge wolf spider that got indoors this week.. Its legs filled the bottom of a pint glass.. I told him to not come back indoors and placed him among the clematis. And I think he would soon find dinner. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment