Elder Haiku

Elder Haiku
https://pixabay.com/en/black-elderberry-elderflower-branch-474752/

the nightingale sings

in the Elder’s branches

the flowers glow

~

© Carol Campbell

Logo_CDHK_July_6c5

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.com/

“In some parts of Scotland it ranked only second to rowan in its ability to ward off evil spells and witchcraft. Crosses made of elder twigs hung over stables and barns to protect the livestock. Drivers of hearses carried whip-handles made of elder to ward off evil influences.
Elder has been prescribed throughout the ages for healing ailments from blindness to epilepsy. The leaves gathered on May Eve had the power to cure wounds, and warts could be removed by rubbing them on a green elder stick and burning it: as it rotted away, so did the warts.
waves thundering
soothing my mind with emptiness
no thoughts at all
Holy Isle’s nature
seagulls cry

seagulls cry
Om Mane Padme Hum
at last … world peace

© Chèvrefeuille

 

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories UncategorizedTags, 10 Comments

10 thoughts on “Elder Haiku”

  1. Lovely poem and image.. My Aunt I remember would always make elderflower wine.. and I love the berries and make syrup from it for the winter .. Its a great booster to help your immune system and packed full of Vit C..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment