Absence

Moose George Hodan
George Hodan

Arms hug empty space

Closing tightly and alone

Filling them with me

~

© Carol Campbell 2015

Prompt of dverse Poets:

http://dversepoets.com/2015/11/17/poetics-who-what-do-you-miss/#like-11030

“What or who do you miss?”

❤ ❤ ❤

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories Uncategorized48 Comments

48 thoughts on “Absence”

  1. I love the image of filling the empty arms “with me.” I find comfort in that, more than sadness. But then “arms around self” is one of my mantras, one of the sets of words that keeps me strong when I’m anxious.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When all is said & done, all we ever have left is our self. Empty space can have as many faces as we imagine or decide, but yes, it still re-emerges as empty. Hug thy self; damn rights, the first step in inner health.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Best friends.. lovers..
    mothers.. fathers..
    and nature
    are simply
    us in
    Love
    as us..
    highest power
    within.. outside..
    above.. so
    below..
    all around
    LOVENOWUS..
    Sad.. so many folks
    run from emotTioNs..
    some never realiZinG
    HeARt Runs US..
    so simple
    yet so
    complicated
    to lose this Truth in Life..
    The REAL LIGHT OF LIFE
    FEELINGS JUST FEELINGS..:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment