Rise

Rise Evgeniy Karskiy
Evgeniy Karsky

I had risen earlier than the others as is my wont to do. Mornings hold a sacred energy that I enjoy connecting with even in the cold weather. It’s profound to feel the blue quiet of the slow awakening of life throughout my half of the world. That morning, I decided to make my way to the lake. I love the way the sun reflects her gentle light on the mirror-like surface. I quietly recited my morning prayers with a depth that only dawn can allow. I felt very grateful and that feeling stayed with me all day.

sun rises slowly

the lake is still and peaceful

a catfish jumps

~~

© Carol Campbell 2016

Logo CD January 2016 (2) THROW THAT PEBBLE
Throw That Pebble

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.com/2016/01/carpe-diem-throw-that-pebble-1-dawn.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+CarpeDiemHaikuKai+%28CARPE+DIEM+HAIKU+KAI%29

“Maybe you can remember our “Time Glass” feature in which I gave you 24 hours (or sometimes less) to respond. I love to bring that feature back, but with another “name” and as a part of our regular prompts. As you all know haiku is the response on an event as short as the sound of a pebble thrown into water. Haiku is an impression of such a short moment, an eye-blink or a heart beat.
To make you aware of that short moment I have re-created “Time Glass” but now as “Throw that pebble”. “Throw that pebble” is a time challenge and I challenge you to respond on our regular prompt within 24 hours. I am aware of the fact that we all live in different time-zones, so I think you all have time to respond on this feature within 24 hours. Let’s go and throw that pebble into water.

Credits: Winter Dawn (© Wayne Brittle)

As I said above I will use our regular prompts for “Throw that pebble” (and I have adapted our logo for that, as you can see). The prompt for today (as planned) is dawn. So I love to challenge you to respond within 24 hours on this episode of Carpe Diem Haiku Kai. Say …. this regular episode is an episode “with a twist”. You have to respond within 24 hours. Good luck!

praising
birds start to sing
at dawn

© Chèvrefeuille”

❤ ❤ ❤

 

Published by: writersdream9

I have been writing all my life but for the most part, it has been a secret. My parents did not believe writing was a good way to earn money so I hid my poems. Then one day, I wanted to comment on an essay that a friend had written and found myself with a blog. That quiet whisper inside said, "You can write your poetry and no one will ever know.". I knew nothing of followers and the like at that time. So, here I am trying to learn my craft and enjoying every moment of it. My personal details are, I'm 57, married for 39 years, have one grown son who is God's gift to us and last but not least at all, I'm a Baha'i which basically means that I love all humanity.

Categories Uncategorized30 Comments

30 thoughts on “Rise”

      1. I am not certain if haibun has to be about a journey it’s known like that. I have other ideas about haibun … it’s a short story in which prose and poetry are entwined. I will ask Jane Reichhold about it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment